Posts Tagged ‘Zee Sports’

Ten Action: the new name of Zee Sports

September 11, 2010

If media reports are to be believed, Zee Sports, the sports broadcasting entity of Zee Group is going to have a new name Ten Action. The revamped channel will be dedicated to the events and happenings focusing on Soccer.

We leaked the news relying on its sources that Zee Sports will be rebrabded as Ten Action by the end of this month. The major development according to the website is cornered due to the upcoming European Soccer season.

Ten Action will showcase leagues such as La Liga, Serie A, Scottish, Dutch football, the Uefa Europa and Uefa Champions League. It will also air the Coca-Cola Championship.

ICL or IPL can happen only in India, says Michael Bevan

March 16, 2008

Former Australia cricketer Michael Bevan feels Twenty-20 tournaments in the Indian Cricket League (ICL) or Indian Premier League (IPL) format can happen only in India because of the availability of large number of local players.

“Only India can sustain two such alternative tournaments. It’s only possible for India to provide so many players required to support such an endeavour,” Bevan, coach-cum-player of the Chennai Superstars ICL team. He is in hyderabad for the ICL 20’s Grand Championship match against Hyderabad Heroes to be played at the Lal Bahadur Stadium on March 15.

“The national cricket boards in all cricket playing countries are involved in a different kind of cricket and none has as many players as India. For any other country it’s very difficult to conduct such tournaments. Such tournaments will boost local players and help improve the standard of the game. But few countries can afford to organise such tournaments,” the left-hand batsman added.

Bevan, who has been associated with the ICL for about one year, observed India has a lot of young talented players. “I am associated with ICL as a coach for the last one year. During all these months I have come across so many potentially good players who might not have got chances to play at the top level. Given a chance, they can do wonders for the country,” he added.

Speaking about his experiences with Indian cricket, he said there are a lot of emotion attached to the game here. “Cricketers here are more passionate about the game. The kind of enthusiasm I have seen here is rare,” he added.

Bevan, who was considered to be a one-day specialist, said he really enjoyed the new format of the game. “The Twenty20 is a pretty new concept. It’s giving cricket a new dimension altogether. I have enjoyed it so far,” he said about the faster version of the game which he said would be more fun and entertaining for the viewers.

ICL 20s Grand Championship starts on March 9

March 1, 2008

The Indian Cricket League (ICL) has announced its forthcoming tournament ‘ICL 20s Grand Championship’, which promises 30-days of cricket starting March 9 to April 7.

The tournament will be held in three locations – Hyderabad, Chandigarh (Panchkula) and Gurgaon. Two new teams – Ahmedabad Rockets and Lahore Badshahs have also been added to the existing six teams, making the tournament more comprehensive and competitive. With international cricketers of high stature being added to the league, the quality of cricket is expected to be on par with international standards.

Starting March 9 viewers can watch the high-octane 20over format matches on Ten Sports and Zee Sports. With a match every evening and double headers on specific week-ends, the tournament will have in total 34 matches. Each team will play against each other once in the league format, followed by semi-finals, third position classification match concluding with the best of three match finals.

Kapil Dev, Chairman, Executive board, ICL said, “Our first two tournaments have produced some high quality cricket. We are delighted to have added a new impressive player base which includes some quality fast bowlers, crafty spinners & explosive batsmen. Their participation in the league will provide the younger generation of cricketers valuable insights which will help them with their game. Personally, I am happy to see Pakistan being represented by the Lahore Badshah. We all have some great cricketing moments playing with them and I would like to see history repeat itself in the ICL.”

The Grand Championship will feature eight teams – Chennai Superstars, Delhi Giants, Mumbai Champs, Hyderabad Heroes, Kolkata Tigers, Chandigarh Lions, Ahmedabad Rockets and Lahore Badshahs.